Indian Agricultural Universities Association

Member Universities

Bihar Agricultural University, Sabour, Bhagalpur (Bihar)

Name of the University: Bihar Agricultural University, Sabour, Bhagalpur (Bihar)

Year of Establishment: 5th August, 2010

Vision :
Bihar Agricultural University integrates the responsibilities to deliver innovative and improved technologies blending with traditional wisdom for making agriculture a sustainable and holistic profitable venture for resource-limited farmers of Bihar. The University envisages a vision for self-reliance, income and employment generating organization by creating and implementing comprehensive skill development in pursuit of intellectually vibrating and economically rewarding professions. The vision encompasses nurturing talents for developing professional competency through innovative teaching and learning practices, robust research methodology, effective extension strategy and efficient training program. The university also focuses on agri-entrepreneurship and skill development with a strong incubation support that would serve as a catalyst for transformative change in the agricultural sector, empowering entrepreneurs to create innovative solutions, and overall growth and sustainability of the agriculture and allied sectors.

The mission of Bihar Agricultural University is to empower and inspire a sustainable and thriving agricultural community through excellence in education, innovative research and dedicated outreach. With a commitment to cultivate a generation of forward-thinking agricultural leaders, ensuring food and nutritional security and fostering environmental stewardship the university aspires to act as a catalyst for creating a positive change in the agricultural landscape of Bihar.

Jurisdiction / Area of Operation:
The University has 10 Academic Units and 12 Research Units spread in 3 agro-ecological zones of Bihar. The University also has 22 Extension Units (Krishi Vigyan Kendras) established in 20 districts falling under the jurisdiction of the University. The area of operation of this Agricultural University covers 26 districts of Bihar namely, Araria, Arwal, Aurangabad, Banka, Bhabhua, Bhojpur, Buxar, Gaya, Jamui, Jehanabad, Katihar, Kishanganj, Khagaria, Lakhisarai, Madhepura, Munger, Nalanda, Nawada, Patna, Purnia Rohtas, Saharsa, Sheikhpura, Khagaria and Supaul districts to cater the specific needs of these potential grain bowl of the State.

Educational Programmes offered (PG / UG / Ph. D/Diploma):
B.Sc (Agriculture), B.Sc (Horticulture), B.Sc (Forestry), B.Tech (Agril. Biotechnology), B.Tech (Agricultural Engg.), MBA in Agricultural Business Management. PG and Ph.D. Programmes in 15 Subjects viz, Agronomy, Soil Science, Genetics and Plant Breeding, Horticulture Vegetable Science, Horticulture (Fruit Science), Post Harvest Technology, Plant Pathology, Entomology, Extension Education, Agricultural Economics, Seed Science & Technology, Plant Physiology, Floriculture and landscaping Agricultural Statistics and Molecular Biology and Biotechnology.

Major Area of Research :
Major Research areas includes Crop Improvement, Natural Resource Management, Plant Protection, Social Science, Product Development and Marketing, Dairy Science and Animal Science.

Highlights of Extension Education Activities (including number of KVKs, training programmes / Certificate courses, etc.)
There are total 22 KVKs under the jurisdiction of university which carries out the extension and training activities for the farmers of entire state. During the year 2022-23 a total of 153757 training programmes sponsored by different agencies were carried out by all the KVKs. Research on Climate Resilient Agriculture (CRA) with national and international collaborators are also being carried out.

Strength of the University (Including 5 important achievements):

  • University has been granted with 05 GI and 06 Patents.
  • University has released more than 32 varieties of different crops and has given 47 technologies for wide use among the farmers.
  • Has acquired ISO 9001:2015 certification for university for its excellence in teaching, research, extension and training and for 04 of its other units (Vermicompost Unit, Bio-Fertilizer Lab, Horticulture Garden Unit, Plant Tissue Culture Lab).
  • Has well established Media Centre which has brought several national and international laurels to the university through its Community Radio Station (CRS), 90.8 FM Green Radio and you tube channel.
  • Innovations and best practices : Implementation of nano-technology for sustainable agriculture; Development of Soil Intelligence System; Propagation of quality bamboo & pineapple through Tissue Culture Techniques; Development of abiotic stress tolerant Biological control agent; Complete Feed Block for cattle; Liquid Bio- fertilizer and environmental friendly Agriculture Techniques; Development of proper strategy to reduce greenhouse gasses in contest of global warming; Community nursery raising; Community Animal Health Centre; E-Crop Doctors; Hydroponics; Aeroponics.

Niche Area of Excellence (Area in which University is strong):

University has the following areas which works as niche area of excellence

  • The Centre of Excellence for Teaching and Learning (CETL).
    • Workshop on Persuasive Communication Skills; Personal Branding and Soft Skills; & Professional Etiquettes and Personality Development.
    • Collaborative Course with Foreign Universities.
    • Anti-Plagiarism policy.
    • Development of MOOCs in collaboration with Commonwealth of Learning.
    • Capacity building among Agricultural Professionals on Persuasive Communication and Soft Skill Development.
    • ICAR sponsored short course on: New targets and Innovative approaches.
    • Sensitization Workshop on for Agricultural Students of BAU, Sabour.
  • Centre for Excellence/Advance Studies/ Centre for Advanced Faculty Training.
  • Advanced Centre on Sericulture.
  • Incubation Centre/Start up units/ Venture capital.

Status of Autonomy : Autonomous

Funding support received (From state and other agencies): From State Government and ICAR

Faculty position:

  • Sanctioned: 738
  • In position: 415
  • Vacant: 353

Student intake:

  • UG: 437
  • PG: 132
  • Ph. D: 47

Contact Details

Name of Vice Chancellor : Dr D. R. Singh
Telephone (Office) : 0641-2452606
Telephone (Residence) : 0641-2452605
Fax : 0641-2452604
Email :
Website :